• How to get a Library Card
  • How to get a Replacement Library Card
  • Loan Periods
  • Renewing Library Materials
  • How to place a Hold or Reserve Items
  • How to request an ILL (Inter-Library Loan)
  • Overdue Fines
  • Lost or Damaged Items
  • Returning Materials
  • Homebound Service
  • Email Notices, Reminders, and Announcements
  • email1
    Sign up or verify
    your email


    How to get a library card:

    • Visit the Account Services Desk for a Library card application.
    • Your first library card is free and accessible with a valid government issued identification card (ID must have current California address.)
    • An additional proof of a California address (utility bill, bank statement, etc. dated within the last 30 days) is required to receive Standard account privileges.
    • Proof of a home address is required for a P.O. Box address.
    • Minors may apply for a library card, but a responsible adult must be present to sign and take responsibility for the account.

    How to get a replacement library card:

    • Visit the Account Services Desk.
    • Proper identification is required to purchase a replacement card.
    • Library Card replacements are $4.00.

    Loan periods:

    • Fiction DVDs: 1 week, limit of 10
    • Non-Fiction DVDs: 3 weeks, limit of 10 
    • Launchpads: 1 week, limit 1
    • Chromebooks: 2 hours, limit 1 (In Library use only)
    • All Other Circulating Media: 3 weeks

    Renewing library materials:

    • Items can be renewed 1 time (if not overdue & there are no holds for the item) 
    • Renewals may be made in person online or over the phone. 
    • For phone renewals call (626) 821-5571 during regular Library hours. 
    • For online renewal, go to the CATALOG.  Enter your "Login" which is your Library Account Number (PARC000xxxxxxx including all letters, numbers or other characters appearing on the back of your library card, without spaces) and your "Password"  (the last four digits of your phone number given at registration.)  Remember to logout when you are finished.

    How to place a hold or reserve on items:

    • You must have an active library card.
    • Holds are free, but there is a $1.00 fee for each item that is not picked up within 7 business days.
    • Holds may only be placed for items that are checked-out.
    • There is a limit of 5 holds per patron at one time.
    • Holds may be placed at the Adult and Teen Services Desk, Children's Desk, online or over the phone.

    How to request an ILL (Inter-Library Loan):

    • A $3.00 fee per item is due when picking up ILL request(s), plus postage and any other fees added by the lending institution.
    • Patrons may apply for materials not in our collection at the Adult and Teen Services Desk.

    Does the Library charge overdue fines?:

    • Yes, fines are 25 cents per day per item (excluding Sundays and Holidays).  
    • Maximum fine is $10.00 per item.  
    • Fines and fees not paid within 56 days from due date will be sent to Collections and a referral fee of $15 will be added to the account.
    • Click on Library's Fines and Fees to view a complete listing of fees.

    Lost or damaged items:

    • The card holder is responsible for any material that is lost, damaged, stolen, etc.
    • Replacement cost for all items varies.  In addition to the replacement cost a $3 processing fee for paperbacks and a $10.00 processing fee for all other materials will be charged.
    • Replacement items are not accepted.
    • All paid fees are non-refundable.

    Returning Materials:

    • Books may be returned in the book drop located in the North parking lot. 
    • The wall drops just outside the Library's front door.
    • Inside the Library near the Account Services Desk.
    • DVD's, CD's, Playaway's, Books on CD and any other Audio Visual materials may ONLY be returned to the wall drop just outside the Library entrance or the return slot inside the library.

    Homebound Services:

    • This special service is available through the Library.
    • The program is offered to any homebound Arcadian who needs circulating library materials.
    • The materials are delivered to residences by our volunteers and are picked up at the end of the loan period, or earlier if requested, and returned to the Library.
    • For more information about signing up for this service or about becoming a volunteer in this program, please contact Jamie Belcher at 626-821-4330.

    RECEIVING EMAILS FOR "DUE SOON" REMINDERS, OVERDUE ITEM NOTICES, OR ALERTS FOR "ON HOLD" ITEMS WAITING FOR PICKUP

    The Library sends email notices for items that are "due soon", "overdue" or when "on hold" items are available for pickup.

    If you would like to receive these email notices to help you keep track of your Library materials, use the "Email Verification Form" or ask a staff person at the Account Services Desk to make sure your correct email address is listed on your account and the rest is automatic.

    It is recommended that patrons who have signed up to receive email notices put the Library's email address into the "Address Book" or "Contact List" in their email application. This "should" stop notices from going to the "junk" box or "spam" folder because the emails will be validated by an "approved sender" status rather than an "unknown sender" status. The email address is: "circulation@arcadiaca.gov".

    Also please remember to return your Library materials on time so others can enjoy them and to avoid fines and account restrictions. If you have lost item fees or overdue fines, please visit the Account Services Desk to make arrangements to clear your Library account.

    PLEASE BE AWARE: The Library sends all accounts with fines or fees of more than $25 and more than 60 days past due to a Collections agency.